If something doesn’t feel right, don’t do it.

Raj Thandhi

Owner of Fronte and Sentre Communications, Raj Thandhi. Photo taken by Jeanne Eng

For my 7th meeting, I sat down with the owner of Fronte and Sentre Communications, Raj Thandhi.  Fronte and Sentre Communications is a quite successful marketing business who helps small business turn the corner into big business.  They pride themselves in creating a strong online presence for their clients.

Fronte and Sentre wasn’t Raj’s first business.  When her son was small, she had a company that produced baby products.  This business wasn’t the success that she would have wanted it to be.  I asked Raj, what was your biggest fear or failure and how did you deal with it?

“My biggest failure was when I had to close my baby business.  I knew in my gut that I should have closed it 6 months earlier.  It wouldn’t have been a failure if I closed that business down a year earlier.  Even when it was making money, it wasn’t making enough money for it to be something for me to do for the rest of my life.  But it was successful.  I had an ecommerce store and retailers carrying the products, but I knew in my heart that it wasn’t ever going to grow like I needed it to.”  Raj’s business was quite successful.  She started it as most home based businesses do, on her kitchen table and she grew it to where she had employees and she was selling it in retail stores across the country.  “The failure within that wasn’t so much that the business failed,  it was more that I took it as a personal failure.  From that came my biggest lesson.  I learned that if something doesn’t feel right, don’t do it.”

About KevenMcTaggart
I own a small business called Anything on a Clock. I started Anything on a Clock in 2007 when my son was about a year old.

Tell us your thoughts

