It was all about building relationships, credibility and trust

Patrick van Ponder - The Big Picture Coach

Patrick van Ponder – The Big Picture Coach

I met Patrick von Pander, The Big Picture Coach, 5 years ago.  I was going to the Self Employment Program at Douglas College and he was our networking instructor.  He taught us to leave our comfort when it came to networking. 

One of the questions that I asked Patrick was can you explain the impact, if any, that social networking to your business when you were just starting up?

“Well how do we define social networking?” he asked “If it’s live, then I would say it would be foundational for me.  If it was online, when I started my own business, it had little or no role to play.”  When Patrick first started his coaching business, there really wasn’t any online “Social Media”.  I asked him if he did most of his networking face to face.  “You bet yah.” he replied.  “I was attending two, three, four networking events a week, 50 weeks a year.  And I was building my data base like my mentor taught me to.  It was all about building relationships, credibility and trust.”

Probably the most valuable piece of networking advice I ever gotten was from Patrick.  On the first day of class he stood up at the front of the class and asked us how many people we knew.  Think about it for a second.  How many people do you know?  How many people have you met in your life? 

Then he said the one sentence that I live by when I go to a networking event.

“I know that you know a lot of people but I know a lot of people that you don’t know.” 

When I go to a networking event representing Anything on a Clock, I am not there to sell to the people that are at the event clocks.  I am there to meet people and see who in my network could possibly benefit from the product or service the person that I am talking to is promoting.

Now I would like to challenge you.  Take one online connection that you have and take it offline.  Go have a coffee with someone that you met through social media and see how you could do business together. 

About KevenMcTaggart
I own a small business called Anything on a Clock. I started Anything on a Clock in 2007 when my son was about a year old.

Tell us your thoughts

