Week 19 – Martin Jongejang

Martin Jongejan of Zoom!

Martin Jongejan of Zoom!

A year of so ago I met Martin Jongejan, the owner of Zoom! Building and Property Care.  Over time, I got to know him and about his cleaning business.  What I didn’t know it that he is also a quite accomplished photographer.  

Who is Martin Jongejan 

“I was born inToronto, but I try not to let that get around” Martin joked. ” As a child, I was fortunate that I moved around quite a bit.  I spent most of my childhood in Montreal.  Then we moved to the other side of the planet,New Zealand.  After we spent a few years there, we moved to Australia.”  Martin holds a duel citizenship with Canada and Australia. 

“I’ve seen different cultures and I’ve gotten really good at starting over, making friends, getting connected.  I’ve also always been quite independent.”  Martin explained.  He wasn’t challenged enough when he had the dreaded JOB.  He would stay at it for a year or 2, and then he would get bored.  In 1990 he launched his own photography business.  “It was born out of the excitement of being in control.  I’m responsible for my own destiny and are not held accountible to anybody else.  Ultimately, you are always answerable to somebody.  If it’s not your boss, it’s your customers but still, there’s a lot more autonomy.  A lot more control you have over your won destiny” 

About 4 years ago Martin was in a quite serious motorcycle accident which forced him to re-evaluate his life.  “I started to realize my mortality.”  As a photographer, it is a tough go out there.  “Everyone and his dog can be a photographer now with the advent of digital photography.  So I wanted a change.”  In the course of his research, he read in a franchise magazine that 6 our of the top 10 fastest growing franchises in North America were cleaning companies.  That is when he decided to start his newest company called Zoom! Building and Property Care.

About KevenMcTaggart
I own a small business called Anything on a Clock. I started Anything on a Clock in 2007 when my son was about a year old.

Tell us your thoughts

