How do you get noticed?

Blue Jays Clock

Nathan’s Blue Jays Clock

As I wrote last week, I recently joined Rapid Time Networks as a vendor partner.  As a vendor partner, I get to promote my business, Anything on a Clock to the network.  Mark and George have developed an amazing number of ways for their vendor partners to promote their businesses.  One of the easiest ways to promote your business through RTN is through Vendor Presentations.

At each of the meetings, they allow 4 vendor partners to have the spotlight for 4 minutes (and usually a short Q&A after).  This gives the vendors an opportunity to promote their businesses.  After all, people do business with people they know, like and trust.  Chances are if they just see your name in a directory without meeting you, they will most likely not promote your business.  What is unique about RTN is that they allow you to go around to as many of the chapters as you wish, as often as you wish.  I am going to, in the next couple weeks, do vendor presentations at as many different chapters as possible.

Last Tuesday I had the opportunity to do my first ever vendor presentation at the Tuesday evening meeting in Port Moody.  I am a pretty outgoing person but you may not know about me is I usually get really nervous when talking in public.  You know… the pit sweats, speed talking, mumbling, forgetting my points.  Last week I thought that instead of memorizing a “speech” and forgetting most of it, I would tell a story.  

A couple weeks ago we went to Seattle to watch the Toronto Blue Jays.  My son, Nathan had a great opportunity.  He got to get a ball signed by my favorite player, Brett Lawrie.  When we were walking around the stands, we heard Lawrie being announced I took a photo of Nathan holding the ball with Lawrie in the background.  When I got home I looked at the photos that I took and thought that this would be a cool clock. 

For the first time that I could remember, I wasn’t the slightest bit nervous.  I actually enjoyed getting up in front of the group and tell my story.  If you would like to hear the complete story, come on out to an upcoming Rapid Time Networks meeting or tune into Wednesday’s RTN webcast “StRut Video Live” at noon.

About KevenMcTaggart
I own a small business called Anything on a Clock. I started Anything on a Clock in 2007 when my son was about a year old.

Tell us your thoughts

